Almost 30…

As I approach my 30th birthday, I have the overwhelming urge to tell myself, “I need to stop letting life happen to me” and “I have to take control of my life.” But then a quiet voice says,

“No, it’s time to let God take control.  Stop trying to do everything on your own.”

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” Proverbs 3:5

God can change things in an instant that it would take me decades to accomplish with “the arm of the flesh.” I want to take control of things and will them to happen when I want them to happen because that just seems to be my personality. I can hear my pastor’s voice telling me that “I have the power to direct divine activity.” But I always seem to forget that in order to do that, I must first submit to Him. I don’t want it to seem that I am waiting for God to do something, when I’m the one who needs to take action.  However, I need to remember and realize that my efforts will be frustrating and fruitless unless my will is aligned with His.

“Teach me to do your will, for you are my God; may your good Spirit lead me on level ground.” Psalm 143:10

We all have things we aspire to be. We all have goals we would like to accomplish either this year or in our lifetimes. We all have areas of our lives that we would like to improve. Whether we’re trying to eat better, exercise more, get more organized, or help others, we can’t do it all by ourselves. We need God…and each other.

One thought on “Almost 30…

  1. 7daughter says:

    The hardest lesson for any of us to learn is to let go and let God. It’s difficult to wait when our whole being cries out for us to do something, do anything to get to the next place or the next level. It is a lifelong process to have faith and trust in God. One of my major goals for 2015 is to find quiet time to just listen to what God wants me to do. Turning 30 is one of the major milestones in life. As long as you continue to pray for God’s guidance you will accomplish what He wants you to accomplish.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

